Skip to main content

Femi: Serial Monogamist


Guess a couple of my friends would have seen my karma comments, well it really sucks. But thinking about it, I might need to apologize to karma so sorry karma. The saying what goes around come around might be true but not in my friend's case. Like Effie White in dream girls, he sometimes likes the privileges but not the responsibilities, but @ the end he got around to take up the responsibilities. Sounds like glory seeking comments for him, but let talk about the bad part.  He used to be a Serial Monogamist (SM) and he’s strongly considering going back to the noble profession, girls like them until they breakup with them. SMs are usually the best boys/girls a girl/boy can date; perfect in almost every way except when it comes to long term relationship they simply run away but not without taking the responsibility of saying “it’s not you but me”. SMs are generally unconscious of their commitment issues; they just have one excuse or the other that makes it convenience to break up.

Meet Femi, a SM, shares a flat with a friend in Ogudu, and drives an EOD (Honda accord 2002) and works in GTB (min of 3m p.a.).  He had 3 successful relationships out of 5 potential girlfriends in the last 2 years yes just in 2years. The two he didn't get really shattered him because he thought he could have dumped his SM life for any of them and go in for a full long lasting relationship which might lead to marriage. The sad part is that both girls had boyfriends or shaky relationships and I’m sure you thinking he was looking for trouble right?

In the first case, the girl told him that she had a boyfriend and he already liked her a lot but she said they were having issues (words of encouragement) and he believed that they are more likely to breakup although they were still talking and already fighting over him. He was really looking for trouble and probably deserved what happens, what do you think?

In the second case, the girl didn't tell him about the boyfriend and he didn't bother asking about him (he didn’t really care) and he assumed due to very convincing circumstances that she was single. He was asking her out but she also led him on too and he later got to know about the boyfriend through a friend's friend’s friend and had to stop immediately. But he confided in me that he thought he should have continued with her and the girl wanted him to continue. Whose loss is it, his or her, did he deserve it?
He is sad because he was falling in love with the first girl (1st time in his life to be in love) and the second girl too. On a scale of 1 to 10 (ten being madly love and 1 being let just shag) the first girl had a 9 and the second girl had 7.5. But the problems with him now is that he attributes all the heartbreaks to bad karma from breaking all 3 girlfriend hearts, now that he was close to eternal love, 2 girls broke his heart by commission and omission.

But I told him that it’s not karma because he knows that the 3 girlfriends had not future with him and he didn’t want to lead them on. The 2 potentials, he was most likely to have long term or possibly marriage with them but he got a little dose of his medicine. Now he feels he should mend his heart and shield it from his would be lovers and continue as a SM. Shouldn’t he?  What do you think about this guy, shouldn’t just get a life or what?

True be told, the concept of SM has become fashionable nowadays, with a lot single parents popping up everywhere, I know people who do not want to get married again even  if a girl gets pregnant for them or if they are pregnant for the guy (baby mama syndrome I call it).
The best option for a lot of people is to enter into a serial monogamy and ensure your partner is a SM too.
 My advice for SM is to get really rich because so that when you are 60 you can look for a young 30-40 stud or babe to be co-habiting with. I hope am giving the wrong advice on the SM thing.


Written a while back April 2010

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Clamour for Dutch

I wrote a comment on belle Naija’s article-  All Single Men Stand up by Glory Edozien , it went like this Well I am single and am wondering where all the single ladies have gone to. I think most single men are either running away from commitment, the recession is biting at them or they have started thinking differently-ladies cost money. I was discussing with 2 guys last week and the first said “let go meet 3 single ladies,2nd guy said if they are paying us to meet them why not, but am not spending any money on them o. You know most of  you ladies don’t seem to understand recession; the dates, the gifts and gigs they cost money, most men I know want business opportunities, flings and money, not another drain in their pockets clamouring for marriage. The article was on how it seems difficult for ladies to  find single guys who want to go into a commitment or marriage,  most of the reply posts were written by women with a  few by men. ...

MY LOVE or lust...

Holding my phone, dialing her number and cutting it off before it rings, wanting to call her every minute but realizing I don’t have anything to say. Just want to hear her voice and find out how her day was so far. Secretly wishing she would come home today, wishing she would be mine… She reminds me of the first time I saw a red Camry 07, I fell in love instantly. She just too good to be true…my mind constantly putting her picture in my head… Come to think of it, comparing her to a Camry 07 means there is lust somewhere… Questions: is it possible to be in LOVE and LUST at the same time or are they mutually exclusive? Crazy thoughts of a Boy Nov 10 I just remembered, this might be my first blog... it was posted on FaceBook. But to think that I never got to go out with the girl... makes me sad...all the emotions, Postpaid debts and chinning other girls just because i like one girl and to jus suddenly not like the girl again...i can't still explain it... Is there a problem with me (...